High Street Theatre

 

2022 Events & Showings:

Friday, May 6 : The Monuments Men 

Friday, May 13: Rebecca

Thursday/Friday, June 2/3: Lilo and Stitch, PG 

Friday, June 3: Blue Crush, PG-13 

Thursday/Friday, June 9/10: The Sandlot, PG 

Thursday/Friday, June 16/17: Camp Rock, G 

Friday, June 17: In the Heights, PG-13 

Thursday/Friday, June 23/24: Tinkerbell and the Great Fairy Rescue, G

Friday, June 24: A Midsummers Night’s Dream, PG-13 

Thursday/Friday, June 30/July 1: Home, PG 

Friday, July 1: Independence Day, PG-13 

Thursday/Friday, July 7/8: Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, PG 

Thursday/Friday, July 14/15: Goonies, PG 

Friday, July 15: Stand by Me, R 

Thursday/Friday, July 21/22: The Parent Trap (1998), PG 

Friday, July 22: Addams Family Values, PG-13 

Thursday/Friday, July 28/29: Because of Winn Dixie, PG

Friday, July 29: Dirty Dancing, PG-13 

Thursday/Friday, August 4/5: Dolphin Tale 3-D, PG 

Friday, August 5: Adventureland, R 

Friday, August 19: The Final Girls, PG-13

Kid-friendly films are scheduled Thursdays at 3 pm and 6 pm, and Fridays at 3 pm. Teen and adult films are scheduled most Fridays at 7 pm. Admission and popcorn are free for everyone. Children under 12 must be accompanied by a responsible guardian; R-rated films require that anyone under 17 be accompanied by a parent/guardian. 

This program is made possible in part by the Virginia Commission for the Arts and the National Endowment for the Arts.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

High Street Theatre catches a wave this summer with its new Summer Days and Nights film  series Thursdays and Fridays this June through August. The series gathers films from several  genres under its oversized beach umbrella “summer” theme, showcasing well-loved movies about summer jobs, summer camps, and summer adventures alongside lesser known cult  favorites. It opens June 2 with family friendly Lilo and Stitch, followed by the surfer girl classic, Blue Crush, on Friday, June 3.  

Located at 102 1/2 High Street just west of Main Street in downtown Farmville, High Street  Theatre is part of the Longwood Center for the Visual Arts’ expanded menu of free film  programs. The theatre opened this past fall with Friday Night Frights, a nod to the LCVA’s established Cabin Films series, curated by Longwood professor Chris McGee. Comedy and  international films joined the roster this past spring as an option for people who find the idea of scary movies just a bit too scary.  

“This new Summer Days and Nights series is inspired by the light-hearted nature often associated with the poolside and beach reading of summer vacation,” explained Rachel Talent Ivers, LCVA executive director. “But it also includes classic coming-of-age movies, such as Stand by Me, and musicals - Dirty Dancing and In the Heights.”

The series concludes August 19 with a screening of The Final Girls, a clever 2015 comedy horror mashup that serves as the theatre’s hat tip to its origin in the now defunct Cabin  Films series. 

Schedules, film trailers, and details about the ratings can be found on the LCVA website and  Facebook page, or by scanning the QR on the exterior of the theatre. LCVA and High Street  Theatre staff will continue to have a bit of fun with the theatre marquee, teasing coming  attractions with quotes and word-scrambled titles.  

The space may also be reserved for private functions when it is not otherwise in use. Facility rental inquiries should be directed to Lorrie Watson @watsonlc@longwood.edu.

RESERVE THE SPACE

Farmville, VA

Click here to download our Winter 2022 Newsletter